CIFAS

CIFAS


CIFAS is pleased to announce the appointment of its new director, Marine Thévenet!

After more than 10 years of commitment and investment at the Direction of CIFAS, Benoit Vreux has decided to hand over the position. Following the recruitment process, in which we had the pleasure of discovering some very good candidates, the Board confirmed the choice of the Reading Committee and appointed Marine Thévenet as his successor. She will take the helm of CIFAS this summer, and for the next five years.

CIFAS - a resource centre for experience-based transformation

For CIFAS, Marine Thévenet has presented a strong, original, committed project, open to the world and aimed at a variety of audiences. She proposes a collective learning space with a programme of workshops, debates and public interventions that support experimentation, alternative knowledge, being together, public space and artistic desire. Its aim is to think about public space and to approach learning from a holistic and living perspective, integrating rurality, the edges of wild life, valuing so-called peripheral knowledge and activating all our senses.

She continues the path traced out in recent years by Cifas as a think tank for the performing arts in public space, anchored in contemporary political and social stakes.

"We will try to uncover the Senne and bring the city back to vitality. We will question the issue of housing and invite artist-urbanists to mark empty houses in Brussels. We will collect love songs that people will come and sing for us in order to feel alive. We will go for a walk, we will pass through doors, we will settle in new corners of the city from which our reflections, works and experiences will be felt differently, we will have an intimate and wild practice of the city..."

Marine Thévenet attaches a great importance to the question of context and the human and social impact that art can have on society, she is interested in new forms of live art and collaborative practices. She has a long experience of curation and production, with a strong international dimension, which she developed while working for Artsadmin in London. Her experience at the Festival Les Tombées de la Nuit in Rennes has given her a serious expertise in the field of live arts in public space. Her involvement with l'Amicale has enabled her to create tools for working and reflecting on cooperative and collaborative practices.

Among the artists and contributors who inspired Marine Thévenet's project are Kathrin Böhm and Myvillages (UK/DE), Rosana Cade (UK), Marcus Coates (UK), Futurefarmers (BE), Luigi Coppola/Scuola della Agricultura (BE/IT), Rebecca Davies (UK), Phoebe Davies (UK), Roland Gunst (BE/CG), Terike Haapoja (FI), Tim Ingold (FR), Andrea Luka Zimmerman (UK), Anna Rispoli/Britt Hatzius (BE/DE), Ahilan Ratnamohan (BE), Laura Nsengiyumva (BE/RW), Lone Twin (UK), Jack Tan (UK), Selina Thompson (UK), Lotte van den Berghe (NL), Youness Baba Ali (BE/MA), Marianne Villière (FR), Jazoo Yang (DE), Estelle Zhong Mengual (FR), Peggy Pierrot (BE), Fabian Foort (FR), McLoud Zicmuse (BE)...

The Board and the team would like to thank Benoit Vreux most warmly for these rich years, which have given CIFAS the opportunity to open up to new perspectives and to develop so many exciting projects.

Today, we are thrilled to dive into the new adventures that await us, welcome Marine Thévenet!



*****************************************************************************************************************

The International Centre for Training in the Performing Arts, CIFAS, was born twenty years ago, willing to provide performing artists opportunities to develop their artistic practice by meeting and confronting internationally renowned directors.

The current project CIFAS, initiated in 2009, intends to continue this legacy, adapted to the changing contemporary arts scene, in particular by extending its activities to all the arts and opening access to creative artists.

Activities

CIFAS develops a training program in the performing arts scene (theater, dance, circus, live art, playwriting, in situ work ...) aimed at professional and active artists – creators and performers.

This in-service training program mainly takes the form of artistic research workshops led by international artists, invited to share their practice, technique, thematic ... during working sessions of serveral days in Brussels.

CIFAS proposes symposiums, summer universities, talks and seminars around the issues in which we are particularly interested; Education, Art and the City, Artivism, to name just a few. These activities are adressed to artists, teachers, producers, politicians, students, researchers, cultural mediators...

CIFAS also organises SIGNAL, a yearly programme for critical reflection on the complex relations between art and public space. In addition to offering debates and workshops around practices and experiences of living art in public space, SIGNAL also features a program of artistic actions addressing Brussels’ urban fabric - the urban interventions.

Thematics

CIFAS aims at the emergence and recognition of new arts territories, in all their dimensions. In order to achieve this, we focus on three types of relationships which we think are best able to disturb the trainee’s perspective on his own artistic practice.

Art in relation to urban space: the modern city - Brussels being no exception - mixes and clashes worlds and lifestyles which are so cosmopolitan that it becomes an international scene in itself. At CIFAS, we believe that this scene is auspicious for all the daring, all the questions. Visual artists, performers, dancers, street artists, or even urban planners and activists, meet in this place to question the human, social and dramatic relationships coming out of it, thus shifting our perception.

Mixed forms of art: beyond the transdisciplinary approaches of the arts which are common in contemporary works, we want to propose meetings and workshops where art, discourse and techniques mix and mingle: 'circus and feminism ',' video and activism 'or yet ‘writing in the twenty-first century '. Intercrossing forms mixes our perception.  

Publications

CIFAS edits an electronic magazine called Klaxon about living art and public space. Klaxon can be downloaded for free on all kinds of supports.

CIFAS also edits under the most varied forms - newspapers, films, postcards, artist's books... - the tracks of workshops and artistic projects which started at CIFAS.

Partners

CIFAS is a member of the European network IN SITU, of Réseau des arts de Bruxelles (RAB) and of the European Network FACE.

CIFAS is also associated with various events promoting the discovery and emergence of young artists coming out of the art schools of the Wallonia-Brussels Community.

CIFAS is a program supported by the Service of the French speaking Government of Brussels and Actiris.

CIFAS

CIFAS


Le CIFAS est heureux de vous annoncer la nomination de sa nouvelle directrice, Marine Thévenet ! 

Après plus de 10 années d’engagement et d’investissement à la direction du CIFAS, Benoit Vreux a décidé de passer la main. A l’issue du processus de recrutement dans lequel nous avons eu le plaisir de découvrir de très belles candidatures, le conseil d’administration a confirmé le choix du comité de lecture et a nommé Marine Thévenet comme sa successeuse. Elle prendra les commandes du CIFAS cet été, et pour les cinq années à venir.

Le CIFAS – un centre de ressources pour la transformation par l’expérience

Pour le CIFAS, Marine Thévenet a présenté un projet fort, original, engagé, ouvert sur le monde et qui s’adresse à des publics variés. Elle propose ici un espace d’apprentissage collectif avec un programme d’ateliers, de débats et d’interventions publiques qui soutiennent l’expérimentation, le savoir alternatif, l’être ensemble, l’espace public et le désir artistique. Son objectif est de penser l’espace public et l’apprentissage de manière holistique et vivante, en intégrant la ruralité, les lisières de la vie sauvage, en valorisant d’autres savoirs dits périphériques, en activant tous nos sens.

Elle continue le chemin tracé ces dernières années par le Cifas comme organe de soutien et de réflexion autour des arts vivants dans l’espace public, ancré dans les enjeux politiques et sociaux contemporains.

« Nous tenterons de dé-couvrir la Senne et redonner du vivant à la ville. Nous interrogerons la question du logement et inviterons des artistes-urbanistes à marquer les maisons vides de Bruxelles. Nous collecterons des chansons d’amour qu’on viendra nous chanter pour se sentir vivre. Nous irons marcher, nous passerons des portes, nous nous installerons dans des recoins méconnus de la ville depuis lesquels nos réflexions, œuvres et expériences se donneront à sentir autrement, nous aurons une pratique de la ville intime et sauvage…»

Marine Thévenet accorde une importance toute particulière à la question du contexte et de l’impact humain et social que l’art peut avoir sur la société, elle s’intéresse aux nouvelles formes d’arts vivants et aux pratiques collaboratives. Elle a une longue expérience de curation et de production, avec une dimension internationale forte, qu’elle a notamment pu développer alors qu’elle travaillait pour Artsadmin à Londres. Son expérience au Festival Les Tombées de la Nuit à Rennes lui confère une expertise sérieuse dans le domaine des arts vivants dans l’espace public. Son engagement auprès de l’Amicale lui a permis de créer des outils de travail et de réflexion sur les pratiques coopératives et collaboratives.

Parmi les artistes et intervenant·e·s cité·e·s qui ont inspiré le projet de Marine Thévenet, il y a Kathrin Böhm et Myvillages (UK/DE), Rosana Cade (UK), Marcus Coates (UK), Futurefarmers (BE), Luigi Coppola/Scuola della Agricultura (BE/IT), Rebecca Davies (UK), Phoebe Davies (UK), Roland Gunst (BE/CG), Terike Haapoja (FI), Tim Ingold (FR), Andrea Luka Zimmerman (UK), Anna Rispoli/Britt Hatzius (BE/DE), Ahilan Ratnamohan (BE), Laura Nsengiyumva (BE/RW), Lone Twin (UK), Jack Tan (UK), Selina Thompson (UK), Lotte van den Berghe (NL), Youness Baba Ali (BE/MA), Marianne Villière (FR), Jazoo Yang (DE), Estelle Zhong Mengual (FR), Peggy Pierrot (BE), Fabian Foort (FR), McLoud Zicmuse (BE)...

Le Conseil d’administration et l’équipe permanente tiennent à remercier Benoit Vreux, très chaleureusement, pour ces riches années qui ont permis au CIFAS de s'ouvrir vers de nouvelles perspectives et de développer de nombreux projets tellement passionnants.

Aujourd'hui, nous nous réjouissons de ces nouvelles aventures qui nous attendent, bienvenue Marine Thévenet !

**********************************************************************************************

Le Centre international de Formation en Arts du Spectacle, le CIFAS, est né il y a une trentaine d’années de la volonté d’offrir aux interprètes du spectacle vivant des occasions de perfectionnement de leurs pratiques artistiques par la confrontation avec des metteur·e·s en scène de renommée internationale et par le métissage des formes et des contenus.

Le projet actuel CIFAS initié depuis 2009 entend poursuivre l’héritage et l’adapter à l’évolution du paysage artistique contemporain, notamment par une extension du champ de ses activités à l’ensemble du domaine artistique, une ouverture aux artistes créateur·rice·s et une attention toute particulière à l'art vivant dans l'espace public.

Activités

Le CIFAS développe un programme de rencontres et de formations dans le domaine des arts vivants (théâtre, danse, cirque, performance, écriture dramatique, installation vivante, …) en direction des artistes – créateur·rice·s et interprètes – professionnel·le·s actif·ve·s.

Ce programme de formation continue prend principalement la forme d’ateliers de recherche artistique, menés par des artistes internationaux·ales, invité·e·s à partager leurs pratiques, techniques, thématiques…  au cours de sessions de travail de quelques jours à Bruxelles.

Le CIFAS propose également des colloques, des rencontres et des séminaires axés sur les thématiques qui nous préoccupent plus particulièrement; l'enseignement, l'art et la ville ou l'artivisme, par exemple. Ces activités s'adressent aux artistes, pédagogues, producteur·rice·s, responsables politiques de la culture, médiateur·rice·s culturel·le·s... 

Le CIFAS met également en place SIGNALL'art vivant et la ville, un programme annuel composé d'une part d'une Urban Academy - rencontres et ateliers croisant pratiques et expériences d’art vivant dans l’espace public - et d'autre part, d'interventions urbaines interrogeant le tissu urbain bruxellois.

Thématiques

Le CIFAS vise à l’émergence et à la reconnaissance des nouveaux territoires de l’art, dans toutes ses dimensions. Pour cela, nous privilégions deux types de relations qui nous semblent les mieux à même de troubler le regard que les participant·e·s portent sur leur propre pratique artistique.

L'art en relation avec l'espace urbain: la ville moderne – et Bruxelles n’échappe pas à la règle – fait se croiser et s’affronter des mondes et des modes de vie à ce point cosmopolites qu’elle est en soi une scène internationale. Au CIFAS, nous pensons que cette scène est propice à toutes les audaces, toutes les interrogations. Plasticien·ne·s, performers, danseur·se·s, artistes de rue, ou même urbanistes ou activistes s’y retrouvent pour questionner les relations humaines, sociales ou spectaculaires qui s’y nouent et décalent notre regard.

Les formes métissées de l'art: au-delà des approches transdisciplinaires des arts, actives dans beaucoup de créations contemporaines, nous souhaitons proposer des échanges et des ateliers où l’art, les discours et les techniques s’échangent et se mêlent : ‘cirque et féminisme’,‘vidéo et activisme’ ou encore ‘écrire au XXIe siècle’. Le métissage des formes mélange notre regard.

Publications

Le CIFAS édite une revue digitale, en téléchargement gratuit pour toute plateforme, intitulée KLAXON, consacrée à l'art vivant dans l'espace public. KLAXON existe en français et en anglais.

Le CIFAS édite également, sous les formes les plus variées  - journaux, films, cartes postales, livres d’artiste,…– les traces des workshops artistiques et des projets qui y sont nés. 

Partenariats

Le CIFAS est membre du Réseau européen IN SITU, du Réseau des arts de Bruxelles (RAB) et du réseau européen FACE.

Le CIFAS est également associé à diverses manifestations visant à promouvoir la découverte et l’émergence de jeunes artistes issu·e·s des écoles d’art de la Communauté Wallonie-Bruxelles.

Le CIFAS est un programme conçu avec le soutien du Service du Gouvernement francophone bruxellois et d'Actiris.