22 April 2019 to 27 April 2019
Subscriptions : Free of charge, lunch offered
Applications (CV + letter of intention) to submit directly on this webpage before 17/03/2019

L'inscription peut se faire via le formulaire accessible sur ce site version classique.
Artists from different fields
English
Monday 22 > Saturday 27.04.2019
10:00 > 18:00

Public presentation : Saturday 27.04.2019 - 19:00
Les Brigittines
Petite Rue des Brigittines
1000 Brussels
Phone: +32 472 84 85 74
When Emotions Become Form

Russian collective Chto Delat will be in Brussels from 22 to 27 April to lead a workshop on the place of emotions in our contemporary languages.
Emoji and gif included.

Performative laboratorium and a learning play with the Collective Chto Delat:  
Nina Gasteva, Olga Egorova, Dmitry Vilensky

It looks like we’re living in a time of emotional upheaval; we trust our reason less and less and rely ever more on our feelings.
What is truth and what is not no longer depends on reasoning, 
but rather on the overwhelming emotional impact on our dialogue partners.

This could be considered as a new psychological basis for the so-called populist politics and the ensuing collapse of democratic forms, which were always based on citizens’ conscious decisions. We now see how this fundamental idea is vanishing through growing manipulation of our collective feelings. We can also consider such upheavals as a legitimate aftermath of the long-running critique of reason that has been interpreted as something repressive, totalitarian, and patriarchic. Emotions (embodied in body language, for instance) are not considered appropriate in serious debate and somehow compared with a language used by subalterns and the oppressed; this current move toward emotions could also be considered as a liberation. 

We can also witness this upheaval in the emergence of the culture of emoji and gif-animations in our everyday interactions. These ideograms are routinely used in social networks and personal online communications. There are various genres of emoji: facial expressions, common objects, locations, types of weather, animals, and many others forms.

Workshop

Chto Delat will gather 12 artists from different disciplines to work on these topics during 6 days at les Brigittines (Brussels).

In this workshop, the group will discuss and enact these phenomena in relation to different concrete events in our public and private lives as chosen by participants. At the end of the workshop the group will make a presentation of its collective lexicon and demonstrate its use, based upon the collective interactions during the workshop.

This public presentation will take place on Saturday 27 April 2019 at 19:00 at les Brigittines.

Chto Delat

The collective Chto Delat (What is to be done?) was founded in early 2003 in St. Petersburg by a group of artists, critics, philosophers, and writers.
Their goal is to merge political theory, art, and activism.
Chto Delat acts as a community that organises various cultural activities. It intends to politize "knowledge production" by redefining the concepts of autonomy and engagement in artistic practice today.
In 2013, Chto Delat initiated an educational platform - School of Engaged Art in Petersburg -, and also runs a space called Rosa’s House of Culture. From its inception, the collective has been publishing an English-Russian newspaper focused on the politicization of Russian cultural situation, in dialogue with the international context.

www.chtodelat.org

Illustration

CIFAs asks contemporary artists to illustrate its communication. Lukas Verstraete illustrated the workshop led by Chto Delat.

Lukas Verstraete (1992, Belgium) studied fine arts and graduated as an illustrator from Sint Lucas Ghent (LUCA). IN 2013 he recieved the prize for best scenario at the Fumetto Festival in Luzern for his first comic, Tupu. In 2017 he released his first graphic novel, Een Boek Waarmee Men Vrienden Maakt (A Book to Make Friends With) published by Bries. Lukas makes illustrations for newspapers and magazines, such as Humo, De Morgen, Rekto:Verso and Le Monde Diplomatique.

22 Avril 2019 > 27 Avril 2019
Inscriptions : Gratuit, lunch offert
Candidatures (CV + lettre d'intention) à enregistrer en ligne avant le 17 mars.

L'inscription peut se faire via le formulaire accessible sur ce site version classique.
Artistes de divers horizons
Anglais
Lundi 22 > Samedi 27 avril
10:00 > 18:00

Présentation publique de fin de workshop : samedi 27.04.2019 - 19:00
Les Brigittines
Petite Rue des Brigittines
1000 Brussels
Phone: +32 472 84 85 74
Quand les émotions deviennent forme

Le collectif russe Chto Delat sera à Bruxelles du 22 au 27 avril 2019 pour y mener un workshop sur l'expression des émotions dans nos langages contemporains. On y parlera emojis et gifs.

Laboratoire performatif et Lehrstücke avec le collectif Chto Delat (Nina Gasteva, Olga Egorova, Dmitry Vilensky)

Nous vivons une période de bouleversement émotionnel ; nos jugements se fient de moins en moins à la raison, et de plus en plus à nos sentiments. « Ce qui est vérité et ce qui ne l'est pas » ne dépend plus d’un raisonnement, mais plutôt de l'impact émotionnel exercé sur nos partenaires de dialogue.

Cette idée pourrait être considérée comme l’un des nouveaux fondements psychologiques des politiques dites populistes, comme l’une des raisons de l'effondrement des formes démocratiques basées sur les prises de décisions conscientes par les citoyen·ne·s. Aujourd’hui, le débat démocratique semble disparaitre avec la manipulation croissante des sentiments collectifs. Ces changements peuvent être vus comme conséquences légitimes de la critique de la raison, perçue comme répressive, totalisante et patriarcale. Les émotions sont considérées comme inappropriées et donc exclues des débats sérieux, reléguées au langage des subalternes et des opprimé·e·s. Mais elles prennent de plus en plus de place et sont vécues aujourd'hui comme une véritable libération. Pour comprendre ce virage, il suffit d'observer les changements de langages utilisés pour communiquer, par exemple l'utilisation des emoji et des animations gif dans nos interactions quotidiennes. Habituellement utilisés par les réseaux sociaux et les communications personnelles, ces idéogrammes existent sous diverses formes; expressions faciales, objets communs, lieux, types de météo, animaux, etc.

Workshop

Chto Delat travaillera sur ces thématiques avec 12 artistes issu·e·s de différentes disciplines pour travailler durant 6 jours aux Brigittines (Bruxelles).

Les artistes discuteront et mettront ces phénomènes en corps et en relation avec des événements concrets de la vie publique, politique et privée amenés par les participant·e·s. `
Le lexique collectif ainsi constitué sera présenté à la fin de l'atelier.

La présentation publique aura lieu le samedi 27 avril à 19:00 aux Brigittines.

Chto Delat

Le collectif Chto Delat (« Qu’y a-t-il à faire ? ») a été fondé en 2003 à Saint-Petersbourg par un groupe d’artistes, de critiques, de philosophes et d’écrivains ayant pour intention de faire cohabiter théories politiques, art et activisme.
Chto Delat se décrit comme un groupe artistique et comme organisateur d’activités culturelles et communautaires dont l’intention est de politiser la « production du savoir ».
Chto Delat a mis en place une plateforme éducative - l'École d’Art Engagé à Saint-Petersbourg - et gère depuis 2013 le lieu Rosa’s House of Culture. Le collectif publie également un journal anglo-russophone qui met l’accent sur la politisation de la situation culturelle russe, en dialogue avec le contexte international.
www.chtodelat.org

Illustration

Le CIFAS fait appel à des illustrateur·trice·s contemporain·es pour illustrer sa communication. Lukas Verstraete a illustré le workshop mené par Chto Delat.

Lukas Verstraete (1992, Belgique) a étudié les Beaux-Arts et est diplomé en illustration à Sint Lukas Gent (LUCA). En 2013, il a reçu le prix du meilleur scénario au festival Fumetto à Luzern pour sa première bande dessinée, Tupu. En 2017 sort son premier roman graphique, Een Boek Waarmee Men Vrienden Maakt (Un livre avec lequel on se fait des amis), publié par Bries. Lukas fait des illustrations pour des magazines et des journaux, tels que Humo, De Morgen, Rekto:Verso et Le Monde Diplomatique.