The March of May 10, 2020

In these delicate times when it is necessary to be attentive to ourselves and to others, we would like to invite several artists to propose an artistic action/reflection starting from our common situation of confinement and its consequences on the notion of public space.


On May 10, 2020, last day of the strict confinement, performance artist Kubra Khademi will be walking in the city of Paris, from the 20th arrondissement to the Eiffel Tower.

During the confinement, the limited one-kilometre distance one is allowed to go from home gave Kubra Khademi the impression that walking in the city became like climbing the Everest.
Her processual march takes place on the last day of strict confinement in France. From 8am to 8pm, the artist walks, hiking stick in hand, until she reaches her final point, the Eiffel Tower, where she will plant a white flag.

Her artistic statement takes the form of the certificate of derogatory travel in France, duly completed by the artist.

In collaboration with Latitudes Prod.

Kubra Khademi

Kubra Khademi is an Afghan artist born in 1989. As a performer and feminist she explores her life as a woman and a refugee through her work. Kubra Khademi studied the visual arts at the University of Kabul and Beaconhouse University in Lahore, Pakistan. That is where she started debuting performances for public places. Upon returning to Kabul she continued this work, laced with a certain criticism of Afghanistan’s totally male-dominated patriarchal society. In 2015 she performed Armor in the streets of Kabul. Following this highly polemical performance her life was threatened and she was forced to flee her country in the following days. She is currently based in Paris and has received the title of Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (Knight of the Order of Arts and Letters) from the French Minister of Culture.

Confined Public Space


CIFAS has been interested by artists working in public space for 10 years, thus investing the city as an open space for reflection and action, organising workshops, debates and artistic interventions.

In this public space, the role of the artist is complex and varied: disrupting our aesthetic habits, developing tools for social cohesion, contributing to urban renewal projects, etc... The artistic strategies to be deployed in the public space meet necessities and constraints that are very different from the spaces usually reserved for art (theatre or exhibition spaces).

Today, however, with the COVID-19 crisis, public space is suffering: it is no longer possible to move around, cross each other, or get together. A social shock that we all experience, confined to our private spheres. So how do we make art at a time when everyone fears for their health and that of their loved ones and wonders when and how it will be possible to return to urban life? Is there an art of confinement? What artistic strategies should be deployed in order to create in this context? What has become of public space today?

In these delicate times when it is necessary to be attentive to ourselves and to others, we would like to invite several artists to propose an artistic action/reflection starting from our common situation of confinement and its consequences on the notion of public space.

La Marche du 10 mai 2020

En ces temps délicats où il convient d’être attentif.ve à soi et aux autres, nous avons convié plusieurs artistes à proposer une action/réflexion artistique au départ de notre situation commune de confinement et de ses conséquences sur la notion d’espace public.


Ce 10 mai 2020, dernier jour du confinement strict en France, l'artiste performeuse Kubra Khademi arpente la ville de Paris, depuis le 20ème arrondissement jusqu'à la Tour Eiffel.

Les sorties limitées à un rayon d'un kilomètre autour du domicile ont donné à Kubra Khademi l'impression que marcher en ville s'apparente à l'escalade de l'Everest.
Sa marche processuelle a lieu le dernier jour du confinement strict en France. De 8h à 20h, l'artiste marche, bâton de randonnée en main, jusqu'à arriver à son point final, la Tour Eiffel, où elle plantera un drapeau blanc.

Son statement artistique prend la forme de l'attestation de déplacement dérogatoire obligatoire en France, dûment complétée par l'artiste.

En collaboration avec Latitudes Contemporaines.
Photos: Camille Graule

 

Kubra Khademi

Kubra Khademi est une artiste afghane née en 1989. Performeure et féministe, elle explore par son travail sa vie de femme et de réfugiée. Kubra Khademi a étudié les arts plastiques à l’Université de Kaboul, et à l’Université Beaconhouse de Lahore au Pakistan. C’est là qu’elle a commencé à créer des performances pour l’espace public. Travail qu’elle a continué à son retour à Kaboul, avec en filigrane une certaine critique de cette société patriarcale totalement dominée par les hommes. En 2015, elle performe Armor dans les rues de Kaboul. Suite à cette performance très polémique, elle est menacée de mort et forcée de fuir son pays dans les jours qui suivent. Elle est aujourd’hui basée à Paris. Elle a reçu le titre de Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des lettres par le Ministre de la Culture en France.

L'espace Public Confiné

 

Cela fait 10 ans que le CIFAS s’intéresse au travail artistique dans l’espace public. Nous investissons la ville comme espace ouvert de réflexion et d’action, en y organisant des ateliers, des débats et des interventions artistiques.

Dans cet espace public, le rôle de l’artiste est complexe et varié : offrir de nouvelles perspectives esthétiques, créer du lien social, réinventer les spectateur·rice·s, contribuer au renouveau urbain… Les stratégies artistiques à y déployer rencontrent des nécessités et des contraintes bien différentes des espaces habituellement réservés à l’art (salles de théâtre ou d’exposition).

Aujourd’hui, avec la crise liée à la propagation du Covid-19, l’espace public est mis à mal : il n’est plus possible de se déplacer, se croiser, se côtoyer ou se réunir. Choc social que nous vivons chacun·e confiné·e·s dans nos sphères privées. Alors comment faire de l’art à l’heure où chacun·e craint pour sa santé et celles de ses proches, et se demande quand et comment il sera possible de retrouver une vie urbaine? Existe-t-il un art du confinement ? Quelles stratégies artistiques inventer pour continuer de créer dans ces conditions ? Qu’est devenu l’espace public aujourd’hui ?

En ces temps délicats où il convient d’être attentif.ve à soi et aux autres, nous avons convié plusieurs artistes à proposer une action/réflexion artistique au départ de notre situation commune de confinement et de ses conséquences sur la notion d’espace public.