27 July 2010 to 13 August 2010
Le Beau Fixe.

"The climate is not looking good for the so-called “Western” Artistic Creation. Forced by the course of history to gradually abandon its previous aim for universality, it keeps on reducing the angle of fire, soon to focus on its own feet... and yet, are those feet really clean? Nothing is less certain.


The so-called "Western" Artistic Creation is given responsibility by the authorities who order (the new white aristocracy, its institutions, its foundations...) to mask the constant aggravation of socio-economic disparities by building the "Democratization of Culture” masquerade. One must exalt the idea of a horizontal camaraderie (B. Anderson) up to hysteria in order to distract the minds off the vertical differences which have become so monstrous.

 

By doing so, the "Western" Artistic Creation is soon conducted to the limits of an Internal (Neo) Colonialism activity (Stokely Carmichael), because of the strong racialization of the (non) social relations within a European urban population which is now multiethnic, segregated and separated by almost impervious urban borders (gentrification, suburbs, ghetto...) and of which groups are composed and arranged according to the former colonial history and its games of interracial contempt.


The direction to follow being a bit blurred, it is still possible to sit and talk. "



 

The workshop

During three weeks, a group consisting of 12 artists maximum will discuss and debate the topics proposed by Jean Michel Bruyère and Jean-Paul Curnier (philosopher, writer, editor). It will refer to aesthetics, politics and philosophy.


Throughout these exchanges, concepts such as three-gear-city, urban ghetto, multi-ethnicity, racism and racialization, relegation, inequity and repression will be tackled in order to radically change stereotypes used in art and culture.

 

The result of these discussions will be visible by the public through an installation that will be created in parallel as well as through specific actions in the city.

 

Jean Michel Bruyère

Multidisciplinary artist, Jean Michel Bruyère is a writer, film director, visual artist, photographer, theater director and graphic designer. He leads the group of international artistic interventions LFKs, bringing together intellectuals and artists of different nationalities and disciplines.


LFKs develop creative multidisciplinary spaces designed to question the contemporary world and its dominant ideology. These spaces are "lounges of strangeness", "rooms for thoughts", "chapels without devotion nor sorrow", where visitors can experience particular states of body and mind, surrounded, immersed in a world which penetrates them. The principle could be described as follows: we traverse, we look, we listen, we attend a performance of political theater in action and we come out of it different, transformed by a question which is now raised.

 

Workshop led by Thierry ARREDONDO, Goo BÂ, Martine BRUNOTT, Jean Michel BRUYÈRE, Jean-Paul CURNIER, Nadine FEBVRE, Delphine VARAS, member artists of the Collective LFKs

27 Juillet 2010 > 13 Août 2010
Le Beau Fixe.

« Le temps n’est pas au beau fixe pour la création artistique dite «occidentale». Forcée par le cours de l’histoire à abandonner peu à peu ses vieilles visées universalistes, elle ne cesse pas de devoir réduire son angle de tir, jusqu’à pointer bientôt sa lunette sur ses propres pieds… et encore, sont-ils vraiment propres? Rien n’est moins sûr.

 

La création artistique dite «occidentale» est chargée, par les pouvoirs qui lui commandent (la nouvelle aristocratie blanche, ses institutions, ses fondations…), de masquer la constante aggravation des disparités socio-économiques en bâtissant la mascarade d’une « démocratisation de la culture». Il s’agit d’exalter jusqu’à l’hystérie l’idée d’une camaraderie horizontale (B. Anderson) afin de distraire les esprits des différences verticales telles qu’elles sont devenues monstrueuses.


Mais ce faisant, la création artistique dite «occidentale» se trouve rapidement conduite aux limites d’une activité «néo-colonialiste intérieure» (Stokely Carmichael), du fait de la forte racialisation des (non)relations sociales d’une population urbaine européenne désormais pluriethnique et ségréguée, séparée par des frontières urbaines quasiment imperméables (la gentrification, le périurbain, le ghetto…) et dont les groupes sont composés et ordonnés en conséquences de l’ancienne histoire coloniale et de ses jeux de mépris interracial.

 

La direction à suivre semblant ainsi un peu brouillée, il est toujours permis de s’asseoir et d’en parler. »

Le Stage

Pendant trois semaines, un groupe constitué de 12 artistes maximum abordera et débattra des sujets proposés par Jean Michel Bruyère et Jean-Paul Curnier (philosophe, écrivain, éditeur). Il sera question d’esthétique, de politique et de philosophie.

 

Tout au long de ces échanges, les notions de ville-à-trois-vitesses, de ghetto urbain, de pluriethnicité, de racisme et de racialisation, de relégation, d’iniquité et de répression seront convoquées au changement radical des idées reçues et rebattues en matière d’art et de culture.

 

Le résultat de ces débats sera visible pour le public par une installation qui sera créée parallèlement ainsi que par des actions ponctuelles et ciblées dans la ville.

Jean Michel Bruyère

Artiste pluridisciplinaire, Jean Michel Bruyère est écrivain, réalisateur, plasticien, photographe, metteur en scène et graphiste. Il dirige le groupe d'interventions artistiques internationales LFKs, regroupant des intellectuels et des artistes de différentes nationalités et disciplines.

 

LFKs conçoit des espaces de création multidisciplinaires qui visent à interroger le monde contemporain et son idéologie dominante. Ce sont des « salons d'étrangeté », des « chambres à pensées », des « chapelles sans dévotion ni peine », où les visiteurs font l'expérience d'états de corps et de conscience singuliers, comme enveloppés, immergés dans un univers qui les pénètre. Le principe pourrait en être ainsi décrit : on parcourt, on regarde, on écoute, on assiste à une représentation de ce théâtre politique en action et on ressort différent, transformé par une question qui se pose désormais.

 

Atelier animé par: Thierry ARREDONDO, Goo BÂ, Martine BRUNOTT, Jean Michel BRUYÈRE, Jean-Paul CURNIER, Nadine FEBVRE, Delphine VARAS, artistes membres du collectif LFKs