26 September 2020 to 27 September 2020
Eve is a Seller

The Afghan artist Kubra Khademi, now a refugee in Europe, questions the place of women in the public space. With Eve is a Seller, she reactivates the myth of the Forbidden Fruit and Eve's "fault" in the context of a contemporary market.
When fruits and vegetables become subversive...

On the occasion of the Parcours d'Artistes de Saint-Gilles, a biennial multidisciplinary arts festival that highlights the artistic and cultural dynamics of Saint-Gilles, Kubra Khademi will propose the performance "Eve is a Seller", created in 2018 at the Abbatoirs' Market  in Anderlecht for SIGNAL festival.

"My position is that of a fruit and vegetable seller in a market. My name is Eve. What can I be expected to sell? The forbidden fruit? What am I doing through this reference? I voluntarily carry Eve's personality, the one I figure myself through the stories I hear. By selling fruits and vegetables placed in suggestive poses and represented as sexual objects, I question myself about sexuality. And this context is an excellent pretext to create a dialogue with strangers. It is the sexual desire or desires that I invite them to see through the dialogue between my sexualized fruits and vegetables".

Kubra Khademi

26 & 27/09/2020
8:00 > 14:30 Parvis de Saint-Gilles (on the church square)

26 Septembre 2020 > 27 Septembre 2020
Eve is a Seller

L’artiste afghane, aujourd’hui réfugiée en Europe, questionne la place de la femme dans l’espace public. Avec Eve is a Seller, elle réactive le mythe du Fruit défendu et de la « faute » d’Ève dans le contexte d’un marché contemporain.
Quand les fruits et légumes s’avèrent subversifs...


A l'occasion du Parcours d'Artistes de Saint-Gilles, biennale d’arts pluridisciplinaires qui met en valeur la dynamique artistique et culturelle de la commune de Saint-Gilles, Kubra Khademi proposera la performance "Eve is a Seller", créée en 2018 au marché des Abattoirs d'Anderlecht pour le festival SIGNAL.

"Ma position est celle d’une marchande de fruits et légumes dans un marché. Je m’appelle Eve. Que peut-on s’attendre à ce que je vende ? Le fruit interdit ? Que suis-je en train de réaliser au travers de cette référence ? Je porte volontairement la personnalité d’Eve, celle que je me figure au travers des histoires entendues. En vendant des fruits et légumes placés dans des pauses suggestives et représentés comme des objets sexuels, je me questionne sur la sexualité. Et ce contexte est un excellent prétexte pour créer un dialogue avec les inconnus. C’est le ou les désirs sexuels que je les invite à voir au travers du dialogue entre mes fruits et légumes sexualisés."

Kubra Khademi

26 & 27/09/2020
8:00 > 14:300 Parvis de Saint-Gilles (sur le Parvis de l'église)